what’s in a name?

Its how we identify ourselves, its the first question we ask a complete stranger, its what separates the calls for “mom” in the grocery store, its our name. I’ve struggled a lot with mine over the years, my full name being Trena- Louise and not the easiest to fit in those little spaces of your passport application. Let me break it down for you: Trena (tree- nuh) being Scandinavian in origin is a Latin term for “triple” often associated with the Holy Trinity and Louise (loo-EZZ) being German in origin and meaning “famous warrior” makes for what I like to call a “triple threat”! Needless to say I was born in the ’80’s and I’m sure that my parents took none of this into account when naming me… as my older brothers name is Trent, my mother once told me that she just dropped the “t” and added an “a” and since Trent has my father’s name as his middle name, well yes you guessed it, I adopted my mother’s name becoming Treenuh- Loo-ezzz!

Now why the history lesson you ask? Well,  yesterday when I was creating my blog I was thrown off guard as to what to call this little creation. Seriously, it was my equivalent to naming a child~! You can’t just pick anything and throw it out there…I really wanted something that relates to me and what this blog is about; my story. What came to mind was when I was little and my dad and I used to read books before bedtime that usually started with “Once upon a time”…the stories usually ended with “and they all lived HAPPILY ever after”. Doesn’t that sound nice, to live forever happily ever after? I definitely thought so. But what about living “trena ever after”?  Although my story doesn’t start with once upon a time here we go…

2012 had been a year from hell for me. I was ungrateful for so many things in my life, unhappy, stressed, focusing on what I didn’t want in life and heading down a very negative path. I felt so undeserving of anything because every time I would think something good was going to happen it was just the opposite and I received one shitty thing after another. So I just started thinking that I was undeserving of good things and started focusing on what I didn’t want in my life until I crashed…literally…

 

As some of you know and most of you don’t I was in a car accident on May 29th, 2012, just days after my 28th birthday and only a few short months after we had made our first shiny, beautiful and brand spanking new vehicle purchase. Luckily the only casualty was Shelby, our 2012 Kia Sportage. I was taken to the hospital by my wonderful (although very angry at the time) boyfriend and luckily only had superficial bruising and some minor aches and pains. Trust me this could have been a lot worse! Not realizing it at the time but in hindsight this accident is exactly what my life needed and it was without a doubt a huge eye opener as to where my life was going. It lead me to change, it lead me to Jackie…

Jackie Dumaine was someone I knew from afar as my Monday night regular 26 hot yoga instructor. I was moved by a mantra that she had played in one of her classes and when I approached her after class to ask her about it I could feel energy from her spirit and was instantly drawn to her. I knew down the road she would become a mentor and a friend to me.

She was the first person I contacted after the accident. I remember sobbing on the phone asking (practically begging) her if she could help me. I explained that I was in an accident and how defeated and overcome with fear and anxiety I was and that I just didn’t know where to turn. We ended up meeting and little did I know just how much of an impact she would have on my life a short 3 months later. Through her coaching and patience, Jackie helped me see that I wasn’t living my best life and turned my way of thinking and the way I was living in a complete 180. It was remarkable! One of the things that Jackie and I talked about in my first sessions was me starting a blog. At the time this seemed so unattainable to me and something that was completely beyond my capabilities. But as I continued my work with Jackie I had so many “aha” moments and started to really see the bigger picture of where I wanted my life to go. I wanted to be truthful to myself and those around me, I wanted to enhance my relationships, I wanted to be able to make mistakes, I wanted to feel content, I wanted to believe in myself, I wanted to forgive and I wanted to let go, I wanted so many things but most of all I just wanted to be happy. I just wanted to feel like my old happy self again. I wanted to live “trena (happily) ever after.”

And so, that’s what’s in the name of my creation. It reminds me that life isn’t a fairy-tale and that we are all human. We fall down, we make mistakes but we are all on a path that is paved with our own adventures. Eventually our paths may cross and I hope they do for

We must be willing to let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the life that is waiting for us.

~ Joseph Campbell

Today I encourage you to let go. Take the first step of a new journey…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vU39tXGzr5Y

This is the link to my favorite savasana mantra called Aad Guray, Please take 5 minutes close your eyes and breathe~~Aad Guray Nameh, Jugaad Guray Nameh, Sat Guray Nameh, Siri Guroo Dayvay Nameh

~tl

One response

Leave a Reply

