Today, IAM a runner!

Image

posted at the finish line

I thought this was an appropriate quote to begin the events of this weekend which is quite ironic because it was the last quote of the day at the end of the race. So, I will start from the end and finish at the beginning…

With an official time of 110:53 I completed my first 10 km race today. In honor of the theme Urban Venus “deliciously sweet run” I think its a pretty sweet time. I had no expectations and am proud of myself for finishing with pride! It was amazing to cross the finish line with my wonderful boyfriend Tyler,  running partner in crime and good friend DD (Danielle)  as well as her future brother-in- law and our friend Jay all waiting and cheering me on! Right from the start My iphone decided it didn’t want to play music as I was trucking along and by the third km I ditched it. DD was well ahead of me and just before the halfway turn DD passed by heading back on the home stretch,about half a km in front of me. She looked so strong and it was nice to see a familiar face, one quick high five and she was on her way! At my turn I met this amazing lady named Wendy. We made the turn together and we were on the homestretch. She was such an inspiration and I think she could tell that I was struggling a little bit. I told her that this my first 10 km and that I’m not much of a runner. Her words are something I will never forget she said ” you have swift feet…and you’re here…you’re doing it and today you ARE a runner”!

I’ll let the pictures do most of the talking for the rest of the race, but just a big thanks to all the volunteers, sponsors, fellow runners, DD for coming all the way from Edmonton, our cheer team (Tyler and Jay), the beautiful weather and Wendy. I literally couldn’t have done it without all of you!

Image

Image

pre game show Image

Image

our cheer team

Image

Image

there she goes!

Image

and there I go…

Image

at the finish line!!! whooo!

Image

Official time!

Image

post game mimosa!

Another highlight of the weekend was spending time with Danielle. I have known this girl since we were 16! We met playing ball when I lived in Edmonton and we instantly became friends! We did lose touch for a few years but were reunited after I had graduated University and moved back to Edmonton. We ended up playing on the same ball team yet again and it was as if time had stood still and our friendship was rekindled.

We had a lovely dinner on Saturday night cooked by yours truly and settled in for girls night (with Tyler) filled with wine, laughs and relaxation. A nice encore to Friday night which was our girls night out~

Image

DD and Tyler

Image

pre race din din

Image

Girls night out at Wurst!

No matter how few and far between our visits are it always feels like right where we left off. I truly enjoy her friendship and couldn’t ask for a more fun lovin’ gal to have in my life.

After the race today we took a little stroll around my neighborhood. The sun was shining and it just seemed like the perfect way to end this weekend. The sun was out and with the crisp air hanging around it definitely felt like the last weekend of summer. We decided to treat ourselves to one more summer beer and enjoy the “sweet” victory one last time!

Image

girls of summer~!

Image

As the last week of summer is upon us, I encourage you to wear your flip flops as many times as you can this week, grab a seat on a patio for a cold one and challenge yourself to start something new. Change is upon us. Have a great week! ( my apologies for a lack of writing but sometimes a picture is worth a million words).

~tl

2 responses

Leave a Reply

