Beyond your limits…

“There are only so many hours in a day, so many days in a week”. I’m sure we’ve all heard this or said this at one point or another in our lives. Or how about “I’m only one person, I can’t be in 8 different places at once, I only have two hands”. These are limitations that make us all human. Sure, we may sometimes wish that we could be super human beings and be in eight different places at once or have an extra set of hands, but the reality is we don’t. These are our limitations. Things that are out of our control that put us all on the same playing field.

But what about those limitations that set us apart? Is there a way we can free ourselves from our limitations?

On Sunday after my run my right foot started to ache. It had been cramping up in the arch as I was running which caused me to over compensate and run on the outside of my foot. At the time it didn’t seem as terrible as I was on a runner’s high about finishing the race and ready to celebrate! However, as the day continued my foot became worse and I was limping pretty badly by the time Dani and I had finished our little walk around the neighbourhood. I shrugged it off thinking that it was nothing and that I would just need to rest it and I would be better on Monday, I’m stubborn like that. And now it’s Tuesday and I’m still ignoring my foot and the pain that is my body’s way of telling me to take it easy, slow down and let my body recover. Essentially I’m not being truthful to myself about what I’m experiencing and I’m not allowing my body to have this limitation.

WHY??

Why didn’t I just walk a few extra steps during the race? Clearly there was no one judging me but I just couldn’t give into my limits. I pushed and pushed and pushed and now my limitations are pushing me right back. I used to do this in a lot of areas in my life. I would push until something broke (literally and metaphorically speaking), always thinking that I have to be the best at something or that I have to have the best of everything and that I couldn’t show any sort of weakness (anyone else feel like this????). Well this race is a flashback but I’ve decided that from now on, I’m giving into myself.

At every moment we make choices between whom we are and who we want to become. But what’s wrong with just being ourselves and running our best race the way that each and every one of us so chooses to? In my mind there is absolutely nothing wrong with this. It seems a lot of people tend to define other people by what they lack or what they aren’t rather than what they really are. But maybe it’s just their own limitations that are holding them back.

In no way, shape, or form am I saying not to challenge yourself or push yourself to achieve the things that you want to achieve. In fact quite the opposite, as I think that everyone should push themselves to a brink but know when to give in and not fall off. Free yourself from your limitations by knowing them and giving into them. Set yourself up for success everyday by being truthful to yourself about what you CAN
accomplish. Whether it is in your career, your relationships, your health, your finances…you can set yourself up to go beyond your limits and not feel depleted (or in my case injured). It’s about knowing what your limits are and how to conquer them in a way that challenges your inner self and motivates you to push yourself to the next level.

Goals for my next race:

  •        Achieve a faster time
  •        Keep a steady pace and not walk
  •        Respect my limits and know when to stop

“Once we accept our limits, we go beyond them”. Albert Einstein.

I’m looking forward having many more experiences with running and I think that this first run was an amazing experience. Let me know how some of you are going beyond your limits… how do you feel and what you are experiencing when you accept your limits??

~tl

One response

Leave a Reply

