stuffed pepper soap box

HAPPY THURSDAY~!

As I was driving home from work I started looking around at how much the leaves have changed the past couple weeks. Normally, I drive the Deerfoot to and from work but today I had some errands to run and took a different way home.  As I drove over the 14th street bridge I realized the beautiful colors of fall are out in full force! I was absolutely taken aback with the luscious colors that have emerged and its as if someone took a paintbrush to the river banks and painted them with bright yellows,  rustic oranges and burnt reds. I cannot wait to get outside this weekend and take some pictures…

With  fall right around the corner and it being a season of change, I wanted to share a new recipe that we are trying out tonight:

Couscous and Goat Cheese Stuffed Peppers

  • one pepper per person
  • one box of couscous
  • 1 med sized onion, chopped
  • 3-4 celery stalks, chopped
  • zucchini (med size), chopped
  • Goat cheese

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees C. Spray cooking oil or add a TBSP of butter to pan. Add chopped onion and celery and cook until soft, then add zucchini simmer on low heat until soft. Cook Couscous according to package directions.  Once Couscous has been fluffed, add veggies to couscous. Prep peppers by taking out the middle and fill each pepper half full. Layer with goat cheese and then fill completely with veggie mixture. Add a layer of Goat cheese on top if desired. Place on baking sheet for about 40 minutes or until peppers are soft.

ENJOY!

~ The vegetables are just what I had in the fridge but you can add tomatoes, squash, fennel or mushrooms. Its a great time for veggies right now especially at the farmers markets!

Give em’ a try and let me know how they turned out…what are some new recipes you’re trying out now that fall is among us?

To end the week on another happy note:

Here’s some enthusiasm and wisdom that I think we could all benefit from. This 6 year old girl was on Ellen today and gave this 28 year old woman some insight for a Thursday afternoon…I feel so inspired and hope you do to!

~tl

Leave a Reply

