what a difference a day makes…

20120924-091605.jpg

~happy first day of fall~

Tyler and I had a wonderful first day of fall. We are very fortunate to live in Mission which is an area in Calgary by the Elbow River. There are plenty of pathways for walking, running and biking, as well as many close amenitites on Fourth street. We are very lucky! On our early morning stroll we decided that we would head up to Purple Perk for some morning goodness before hitting the paths in Lindsay Park.

I should also take a moment to mention that there is a vast amount of construction going on in our neighborhood… surprisingly we haven’t experienced any of the noise, traffic or frustration that usually comes along with it. I’m not sure how that will be in a few months when they start building the new massive condo structure but I’ll be sure to keep you updated. I’ve never actually seen a building being demolished before so it was quite interesting to stop and watch for a few minutes before we carried on our way…

The story with this construction: Ledcor is building a huge condo complex called The River ( http://www.therivercalgary.com/). Where this apartment building is, there were also two other buildings that have already been torn down…

After grabbing some morning goodness we were on our way through the park. It was the perfect time of morning to grab some great shots.

Here are somethings we found along the way…

20120924-091536.jpg

~fall love~

“It’s one thing to feel that you are on the right path, but it’s another to think yours is the only path.”
Paulo Coelho

blissful sun

October gave a party; The leaves by hundreds came – The Chestnuts, Oaks, and Maples, And leaves of every name. The Sunshine spread a carpet, And everything was grand, Miss Weather led the dancing, Professor Wind the band.

George Cooper

20120924-091512.jpg

“Autumn: the year’s last lovliest smile”

William Cullen Bryant

“There is a harmony in autumn, and a luster in its sky, which through the summer
is not heard or seen, as if it could not be, as if it had not been”
Percy Bysshe Shelley

“We keep moving forward, opening new doors, and doing new  things, because we’re curious and curiosity keeps leading us down new  paths”
Walt Disney

After our lovely walk through the park, we settled into our Saturday. Tyler was off to hockey and I was off to a meeting. Later that night we met up with some of our couple friends for dinner and a night of playing  board games! It was definately a riot with non-stop, belly aching laughs! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, if you have never played Quelf it is a must!! Especially with those chillier weekend nights right around the corner, its the perfect way to spend a night in.

As Sunday rolled around I found myself sleeping in well into the morning. I  was enjoying the (much needed) rest and it was nice to be woken up with the sun shining in the window on my face. We really didn’t have too much on the agenda and I spent the day puttering around the house. You would never have guessed that it was the first weekend of fall with the temperatures that we had and we decided to end the weekend with a Sunday night stroll. The construction had made some major progress and I was amazed to see the remains only a day later…

As we carried on I had to stop and think about how late it was getting… I looked at my phone as we were walking and it turns out it was only 8:00 pm; my how the days have gotten so short. Its amazing how fast the world changes and truly ‘what a difference a day makes’. I hope you all had  a lovely first weekend of fall and enjoyed it as much as I did. I will leave you with a few more photos that I snagged and hope that you will share your weekend adventures with me. Enjoy…

~taste of fall~ delicious raspberry green tea

sun is setting as the seasons change

~ my soulmate~

“Everyone must take time to sit and watch the leaves turn.”

Elizabeth Lawrence

~tl

Leave a Reply

