the “perfect” runner…thoughts?

If you have been following along, (much love for your support) you know that not long ago I completed my first 10 km race with a time of 1:10.56 and that I also did a little damage to my foot. Just to recap, as I was nearing the 8.5 km mark I started to get a cramp in the arch of my right foot. Because it was painful to run normal heel to toe, I overcompensated and started running on the outer edge of my foot. At the time I didn’t really notice that I was doing this and it wasn’t until a few hours post-race that my foot really started to ache. When I woke up on Monday morning I could barely walk and this continued on until Wednesday when I could finally start putting normal pressure on my foot. Today, almost a week and a half later I am back to walking normal but I can still feel a little bit of pain when I put pressure on my foot a certain way. My first reaction of course was that it’s because I  just didn’t train enough, that I’m out of shape, or that I’m just using the wrong shoe (maybe a combination of all three??)

But after watching The Nature of Things this past week I’m starting to think completely different. “The Perfect Runner celebrates the modern love of long-distance running by exploring our evolutionary past as a species defined by its ability to run.” In his documentary, Niobe Thompson takes a look back at evolution and the human instinct that makes us great endurance runners. He also brings up the contentious and often hot topic of barefoot running in which runners wear shoes with little to no support, Vibram five fingers (“barefoot Shoes”  http://www.vibramfivefingers.com/index.htm) or no shoes at all.

I do own a pair of Vibram shoes but have never actually ran in them. I do find that my feet, ankles, knees and other joints feel better when I walk in them…so I’m thinking, why not try running in them?

“barefoot” technology

Has anyone had any experience good or bad running in “Barefoot Technology?” Good or bad what kind of feedback can you give me?

Watching this documentary has opened up my eyes to a completely different world of running, both mentally and physically. Thinking that we were bred to run long distances for our survival and that the human body can endure so much physical pain and still keep running fascinates me! After all, I am the girl that thought she was going to die after running 10 km!! I look at these people that are running the death race and I am in utter shock that anyone could run such vast distances over extreme terrain…

For those of you that are interested, please take a look at this amazing documentary!

http://www.cbc.ca/natureofthings/episode/the-perfect-runner.html#

Tomorrow I am going to test out my “barefoot” technique and see how my body feels after. I will keep you updated on “barefoot” vs. running shoe. Until then…happy running

~tl

One response

  1. Hey Trena,
    I hope all is well. I had the same difficulties when I ran my first half marathon. I have noticed significant differences with my five fingers. If you want to read more into it read Born to run: a hidden tribe. It was the book that made me think of minimalist running. Some people do not like the five fingers as they do not like the lack of socks. There are many different brands that get the vibram minimalistic approach in a running shoe design. Keep up on the running. It’s a blast. Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

