Pumpkin spice and all things nice

What a fabulous weekend I’ve had! Fall is in full force but you would never know it from the warm fall temperatures we have been having. I was up and at ’em early Saturday morning and decided that this was the weekend I was going to learn how to make a pumpklin pie from scratch! Being that Thanksgiving is right around the corner I thought no better time than now. Off to the farmers market I went to pick out the perfect “pie” pumpkin ( I wasn’t sure how many pies one little pumpkin would make so I bought two of them). This little guy made 6! So if you are only in the market to make one or two, you will just need a small one…

~future pie~

Faced with the task of slicing my pumpkin open, I thought “how hard can this be?” Little did I know…I literally had all my body weight on the knife trying to cut through it… I did make it through but who knew one little pumpkin could cause me to break such a sweat!

Pumpkin:1 Trena: 0

 After I got it open and cleaned out the pumpkin had to be cut into chunks (leave the skin on) and boiled.

hallowed out

To Prepare the Mashed Pumpkin:

  •  Use 1 1/2 pounds of skin-on, raw pumpkin to yield 2 cups of mashed. Halve pumpkin and scoop out seeds and stringy portions. Cut pumpkin into chunks. In saucepan over medium heat, in 1 inch of boiling water heat the pumpkin to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 30 minutes or until tender. Drain, cool and remove the peel. Return pumpkin to the saucepan and mash with a potato masher.

    mash

  • 2 cups mashed, cooked pumpkin (8 Cups)
  • 1 (12 fluid ounce) can evaporated milk (2 Cans 370 ml)
  • 2eggs, beaten (8 eggs)
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar (4 3/4 cups)
  • 1/2 teaspoonground cinnamon (1 TBSP)
  • 1/2 teaspoonground ginger (1 TBSP)
  • 1/2 teaspoonground nutmeg (1 TBSP)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (1 TBSP)
  • 1/2 teaspoon all spice (1 TBSP)
  • 1/2 teaspoon gound cloves (1TBSP)

Because I had 8 cups of mashed pumkin from that little guy, the amounts in brackets are what I used… if you only have two cups then follow the recips accordingly. Also, I did not make my own pie crusts…I just don’t have the kitche capacity to roll out dough. The bought crust will do…but if you are ambitious enough I have included the crust recipe as well….

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
  • Prepare pie crust by mixing together the flour and salt. Cut shortening into flour, add 1 tablespoon water to mixture at a time. Mix dough and repeat until dough is moist enough to hold together.
  • With lightly floured hands shape dough into a ball. On a lightly floured board roll dough out to 1/8 inch thickness. With a sharp knife, cut dough 1 1/2 inch larger than the upside down 8 to 9 inch pie pan.   Gently roll the dough around the rolling pin and transfer it right side up on to the pie pan. Unroll, ease dough into the bottom of the pie pan.
  • In a large bowl with mixer speed on medium, beat pumpkin with evaporated milk, eggs, brown sugar, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and salt. Mix well. Pour into a prepared crust. Bake 40 minutes or until when a knife is inserted 1 inch from the edge comes out clean.

in the mixer

about to be baked

cooled and ready for the
taste test….

Bon apetit!

All in all, this wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be! Although I wasn’t expecting 6 of them, my friends and family were sure grateful for the pre turkey day pie. I do have one pumpkin left and I think that I will be turning him into pumpkin loaf in the near future…stay tuned for that…

In running news, I did 4.15 miles on Sunday in 47:29 minutes. A personal best for me! The barefoot technology is still working its magic for me and I have had no foot pain YAY! I’m hoping to get up to 6.5 miles this week and continue on while I am home for Thanksgiving this weekend…check out the route I did on Sunday

http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/141632237

Short work week this week…so I have set some short term goals

~ the first is to get my 5 km run under 30 minutes…

~the second is to start running three times a week or more…

What are some short term goals that you want to complete this week/ month?

“The tragedy in life doesn’t lie in not reaching your goal.  The tragedy lies in having no goal to reach” – Benjamin Mays

Happy Monday, Happy first day of October…for my Canadian friends, whats on the agenda for Thanksgiving??

~tl

Leave a Reply

