Sprouts and Spuds

Last night I was wondering what to make for supper when I stumbled upon a recipe from the blog Oh She Glows. I was generously given a bag of potatoes from the farm and had some brussels sprouts left from the farmers market. I was looking for a quick and easy meal to prepare and found this recipe for Roasted Fingerling Potaotoes and Brussels Sprouts (I know right, how perfect!) This is a very easy recipe for anyone that is looking for something a little different and has way too many potatoes! The brussels sprouts turned out tasty as well and even if you aren’t a fan of them, I would encourage you to still try them with your potatoes. Over at Oh She Glows, her pictures and recipe is the real deal. I had to modify mine a little bit as I didn’t have fresh rosemary… Here is her recipe below

Yield: Serves 4-5 as a side

Ingredients:

  • (0.80kg/1.75lb) fingerling potatoes
  • (0.34kg/0.75lb) brussels sprouts
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tbsp fresh minced rosemary
  • 1 tbsp + 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tbsp Sucanat (optional)
  • 3/4 tsp fine grain sea salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 400F and line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. Rinse and scrub potatoes. Pat dry. Slice in half lengthwise and place into large mixing bowl.

3. Cut off stem of brussels sprouts and remove loose outer leaves. Rinse and pat dry. Place in bowl.

4. Add the minced garlic, minced rosemary, oil, optional Sucanat, salt, pepper, and optional red pepper flakes into the bowl along with the potatoes and sprouts. Toss with your hands to combine and place on baking sheet.

5. Roast for 35-38 minutes at 400F, stirring once half way through baking. Potatoes will be golden and brussels will be lightly charred when ready. Season with Herbamare (or salt) and pepper to taste and serve immediately.

I used all of the ingredients except for the rosemary. I also substituted brown sugar for Sucanat and used a bit of Jalapeno oil instead of all virgin olive oil. I like spice and if do as well I would reccommend using the Jalapeno oil and even adding some extra chili flakes. I found that they had just the right amount of spice but that I could have coated the sprouts with maybe just a touch more oil.

~before~

~after~

Forcast in Calgary today: SNOW~!

Let me know how the recipe turns out for you. Stay tuned and stay warm…

~tl

Leave a Reply

