reflection

These past few days I have been doing a great deal of thinking. It’s been very enlightening and I have come to a few realizations; the first being that life is too short. We don’t get to choose how long we are on this earth but we do get to choose how we spend the time that we are here. It’s amazing how time just seems to slip away from us and before we know it a month goes by, then a year, then ten. Make sure that you are enjoying every moment and not missing out on your life. The second realization is that I know some pretty amazing people.  The support that was offered from so many staff and students that attended Augustana University in light of a horrible situation was overwhelming and it really shows just what an inspiring person Julia was. Someone had written this quote for Julia and I just thought it was very touching

“We all die. The goal isn’t to live forever; the goal is to create something that will.” ~ Chuck Palahnuik

Thank you Julia for bringing us all together, you were always a person who could.  We will carry your smile and memory with us.

The third thing I have come to realize is that my life is so much happier with yoga. It’s always one of those things that I struggle with trying to fit into my life but as soon as I am there and on my mat, I know it was the right decision.

Number four is that I am not ready for winter. Not yet… it has snowed this week here in Calgary leaving me with my pants down as I am not prepared for winter running. I was just easing myself into fall running. So now I am looking for shoes and some warmer clothes so I can get my butt back on the trail…any suggestions??? Throw ‘em my way!

Fifthly, Christmas will be here is 60 days! That’s right, just a few short months away. This scares me because I just cannot believe that 2012 has gone by so quickly! I’m looking forward to Christmas this year, as I do every year but seriously? Where has the time gone?

On another note I am pleased to announce that recently I have joined the Kinette club of Calgary and will be volunteering this winter to help families that are less fortunate have a wonderful holiday season this year. Although I know that a lot of these families can use our support all year long, I am happy to be able to give back and at least make sure that they can enjoy the holiday season.

My sixth realization is how much I have been inspired by so many people lately. The amount of great ideas, recipes, admiration, love, thoughts and happiness that is going on around me has been AWESOME! This makes me believe that there is a lot of truth to Simon Sinek’s quote

When you Inspire those around you, those around you inspire you”.

Every day I have more and more people that tell me that they have been reading my blog, trying out my recipes, and getting inspired to start their own blogs. Which in turn just inspires me to write more and round and round the inspiration goes. It’s a great feeling.I encourage you to share what has been inspiring you lately or whom you are indeed inspiring, so many of you are doing so many lovely things!

And lastly, I have realized that if you want something badly enough there is no excuse that can stand in your way. You have to pursue your goals and not just expect things to come easy. Anything worth doing is worth doing right with 100 % effort. At the end of the day it will all be worth it, it may not be easy but it will be worth it.

This picture is from our Kinette Fall Leadership Conference (FLC). It reminds me to smile, dress silly, dance like there is no one watching and to live, laugh, and love with all you got. Thanks for sticking with me…

live, laugh, love

It’s almost Friday…

~tl

3 responses

Leave a Reply

