Get your Asana in gear!

This week has been the most hectic, low energy, Trena’s got the blues week that I have had in a while. What can I say? I’m human. As much as I would like to sit here and tell you that every day I wake up and my life is sunshine and roses…I would just be lying to you. Sometimes I fall into these little valleys where I let stress get the best of me. I let those dark clouds in and succumb to being irritable and grouchy. I forget to breathe and I eat everything and anything. IT’S HORRIBLE! But I am happy to say that I have snapped out of last week and am ready to start this week with a fresh and positive attitude. I’m dedicating myself to my yoga practice this week and have also decided to start a regular schedule of running.

I’m calling this my “get your  ‘ASANA’  in gear” program. With the Christmas season almost upon us what better time to start relieving the stress of the holidays then now. Why wait until January first to start a New Year’s resolution (we all know those don’t last) I’m starting now!

Again, this isn’t an article that I wrote ( far be it for me to take credit on being an expert) but I think that this is very useful and informative none the less.

12 Basic Asanas

12 Basic Asanas

  1. Headstand (Sirshasana)
  2. Shoulderstand (Sarvangasana)
  3. Plough (Halasana)
  4. Fish (Matsyasana)
  5. Sitting Forward bend (Paschimothanasana)
  6. Cobra (Bhujangasana)
  7. Locust (Shalabhasana)
  8. Bow (Dhanurasana)
  9. Spinal twist (Ardha Matsyendrasana)
  10. Crow (Kakasana) or Peacock (Mayurasana)
  11. Standing forward bend (Pada Hasthasana)
  12. Triangle (Trikonasana)

Asana is one of the eight limbs of classical Yoga, which states that poses should be steady and comfortable, firm yet relaxed helping a practitioner to become more aware of their body, mind, and environment.

The 12 basic poses or asanas are much more than just stretching. They open the energy channels, chakras and psychic centers of the body while increasing flexibility of the spine, strengthening bones and stimulating the circulatory and immune systems. Along with proper breathing or pranayama, asanas also calm the mind and reduce stress. With regular practice one can ensure overall physical and mental health and the possible prevention of diseases such as diabetes, hypertension and arthritis. In time, performing the poses slowly and consciously, becomes a mental exercise in concentration and meditation. https://www.sivananda.org/teachings/asana/12-basic-asanas.html

I encourage you to check out this very helpful and amazing website. If you are just getting started in yoga or are looking for a more relaxing get away then check out the “Yoga Vacations”. I’m thinking of going on one just to reconnect with myself and get away from all of the everyday stress before the craziness of the holidays start. I might even just do one without leaving Calgary. Its important to remember that no matter how much of a runaway life can sometimes be, that we need to stay grounded. I choose to do yoga as a way to remind me to breathe and that I am connected to this earth.

How are you planning on coping with the holiday craziness? What do you do to stay grounded?

Stay warm…Ill have some snowy updates for you this week!

~tl

Leave a Reply

