Spaghettacelli

I know I said at the beginning of November that I was strictly dedicating this month to moustaches and yoga but I couldn’t resist throwing in one more Spaghetti squash creation before getting into all the Christmas season cooking and baking. So here it is, my latest (and greatest)  Spaghetti squash creation. This was a very simple recipe with lots of delicious flavors and an asian sorta kick to it.

Ingredients:

  • Spaghetti Squash ( about 2-3 lbs)
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp Jalapeno oil ( I used bread dipping oil)
  • 1 garlic clove chopped ( not too fine)
  • Raw uncooked Shrimp
  • 1 pouch of Onion soup mix
  • 1 jar of Jalapeno Jelly (learn how to make your own here)
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Oyster Sauce

You want to start by preparing the spaghetti squash as I outlined in my first post but with a few modifications…

I used Olive oil with 1 tsp of Jalepeno oil and I added 1 Tbsp  Balsamic Vinegar and fresh chopped garlic. Bake at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes.

Added garlic and balsamic vinegar

Wash and de tail shrimp, add Onion soup mix and Jelly. Stir until shrimp are coated

Raw shrimp with Onion soup mix

Add Jelly ( Jalepeno, apricot, apple)

*NOTE- you can substitue the Jalapeno jelly for another kind, apple, appricot, pear…whatever you like, just be warned you may not get the same spicy taste.

saute shrimp, adding balsamic vinegar, oyster sauce

Saute shrimp on Medium heat adding balsamic vinegar and oyster sauce until shrimp are cooked. Keep an eye on this so that your sauce doens’t burn to the bottom of your pan.

Once shrimp are cooked, you are going to want to add your spaghetti squash. Stir until squash is coated with sauce.

Depending on how much spice you like you could also add some chili flakes here. I also thought that snap peas would be a good addition, I just didn’t have any.

Added Spaghetti Squash

In all honesty, once the squash was cooked, (45 minutes) this recipe took maybe 20 minutes to prepare. The squash tasted just like vermicellit noodles but had way more flavor.

Let me know what you think or if you have any questions…I enjoy your comments and feedback

~tl

3 responses

Leave a Reply

