Taking Chances and making Changes

It’s interesting how a persons story changes as they go through life. Two years ago, I was pretty content living in Stony Plain working at a great office as a dental assistant, surrounded by friends and family and a very comfortable life.

Then I met Tyler…

Who after only two months of dating asked me to move to Calgary. We had been doing the long distance thing for a few months and it was definitely taking a toll on both of us. Nervously, I said yes… and I say nervously because for one, we had only been dating a few months and two I was about to uproot my whole life and move to a brand new city where I would basically have to start over. New home, new friends, new job….

It was Scary!

But you know what? I wasn’t about to let that stop me. I took a chance and made the move. It was the best decision I ever made!

Life became a series of many firsts for both of us. It was the first time I had ever lived with a boyfriend and Tyler with a girlfriend, first “joint chequing” account, first time navigating through Calgary ( I didn’t go anywhere without Tyler the first three months we lived here!) and the first time I had felt at home in a long time. With many ups and downs and things going sideways quite a bit, we’ve survived. It hasn’t been perfect but everyday is worth it. The relationship that we have built and the love that we have for each other is indescribable.

I think I am the luckiest person in the whole world

 …and I’m not just saying that for your reading pleasure. If you have met Tyler you know exactly what I am talking about. He’s so kind, patient, caring, loving, trustworthy, respectful, a problem solver and centre of my whole universe. Which if you know me…it takes a lot sometimes to be all those things!

I’m excited

We are a week away from moving into our new home. Our first that we have purchased together! Its been an amazing two years in the apartment and I think we are both going to miss it there. But it’s time to make another change. It’ll be nice to have a full-sized kitchen, extra bedroom, balcony and wonderful views of downtown Calgary. And the best part is that we get to stay  in our wonderful neighborhood! Which means that Tyler can still walk to work, we can stay at our beloved Yoga studio and we are just down the street from our favorite Sushi place!

 I’m sure that more changes are in store for the two of us as we continue on our crazy journey together.

Stay tuned for details of the big move and my virtual house-warming party with all of you!

~tl

One response

Leave a Reply

