Cooking to Cleanse

I know that you have probably been wondering where all my delicious kitchen delights have disappeared to and that you are all probably thinking that I just gave up on cooking completely. On the contrary I have actually been cooking up a storm these past couple of weeks.

Tyler and I started “The Plan” which is a book about how the foods you are eating are causing inflammation within your body. The focus is on an anti inflammatory diet and eating foods that your body uses in a positive way. At first I was skeptical about how the diet works and if/how it could possibly work to decrease inflammation. I myself have suffered with internal digestive problems for years and after reading this book and following the meal plan (We are on Day Seven today) have noticed how much better my digestion has been. Tyler, who suffers from acid reflux and also has Rheumatoid Arthritis ( which is a systemic inflammatory disorder) hasn’t had one bit of reflux this week nor any flare ups from his arthritis.

I know what you are thinking…

“so what?, It’s only been a week”

Honestly, for as long as I have been with Tyler, 2 years, 2 months, and 2 weeks to the day, there has hardly been a day much less a week where he hasn’t had some sort of flare up. So for us this is huge. And now you are thinking…well, what kinds of food are you eating?? Take a peak below…

I turned this...

I turned this…

into this...

into this…

and eventually into this!

Pictured above is yummy homemade broccoli soup, carrot ginger soup, roasted vegetable in a spicy coconut sauce, carrot and beat salad and roasted winter vegetables.

Dinner Tonight

There has been a tonne of planning and prepping that has gone into eating this way but I can honestly say that the past seven days have been worth it all. We are both starting to see some real health benefits and are enjoying all of the new recipes. I could not have done it without my dishwasher (Tyler), and my two new kitchen lovelies the blender and the food processor. You will need these if you are looking at starting this plan.

**Please note, I am not a medical doctor and if you have any medical concerns or are taking medications, please consult your physician before starting this plan**

It was daunting at first but once you get into the habit of preparing what you need, making grocery lists and committing to following the book it gets easier and easier. If  you have questions, there is a huge support system on Facebook and also on Lyns website here.

I would also love to know if this is something you are doing and would love to offer support as much as possible 🙂

Just remember:

*courtesy of Google images

~Karen Lamb

Happy Monday

~tl

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Nutrition Mission | trena ever after

  2. Pingback: Keeping up with 2013~! | trena ever after

Leave a Reply

