Nutrition Mission

At the start of this year I made a bucket list. One of the things that I put on the list was to become a vegetarian or adopt a more vegetarian way of eating. Initially this was something that I thought I would try for a few weeks, get bored with and move on from. I also thought that there would be a huge lack in the variety of things I could eat and the other impossibility that crossed my mind, was how on earth was I ever going to get Tyler to eat this way!?!?!

We are now on day ten of The Plan…see more about that here… and I would say we are eating 85% vegetarian.

20130314-123050.jpg

This was my lunch today 🙂

The foods that we have been eating are delicious! Everything from homemade hummus to carrot ginger soup to yummy salads, and even a piece of chocolate now and then. We have still been eating Chicken as per the meal plan but its a very small portion. I look forward to this at dinner time and honestly haven’t been craving beef or pork like I thought I would. Actually, I reacted to beef when we tested it which means that I should only be having it in small portions and incorporating it into my diet once every 7-10 days at the most.

One of the greatest lessons I have learned in the past ten days is how much I appreciate food. I appreciate the time it takes to prepare and cook a good meal and I appreciate the time it takes to eat it and enjoy every single bite (especially on the days where we get to have chocolate!) I think this is the start of something beautiful and a nutrition mission that I look forward to making permanent in my lifestyle.

So my question to you is…what are some of your favorite vegetarian recipes? and what are some struggles that you have had with food or changing your eating habits?

~tl

Leave a Reply

