Our first dinner Party, Banff and some Easter good times

This past weekend was a very busy one for us! It included spending time with family and friends, hosting our first dinner party and a night out in Banff to top it all off! Spring is definitely here (for now) and it won’t be long until we are out on the golf courses!

As I mentioned, this was our very first (of many to come) dinner parties that we hosted. Decorating and entertaining is something that I absolutely love to do and its nice that we finally have our own space where we can enjoy the company of our friends and family. Before we moved we had a mish mash of dishes and cutlery so our splurge for the new place was new *matching* dinnerware. We fell in love with this collection from Crate&Barrel; it’s called Myro and it is hand painted and made in Portugal. As you know from my previous post, this dining room set and china cabinet were my parents and are nearly 30 years old so I wanted to add a modern touch to the table and used my dishes as inspiration.  I transformed our dull dining room into a Spring fling!

20130401-083705.jpg

20130401-083738.jpg

I found the table runner and place mats at Homesense and picked up some Begonias on the way home.

20130401-083747.jpg

For more Spring Decorating ideas…. Click here.

20130401-083755.jpg

We enjoyed a lovely meal with our friends and I’m looking forward to doing a lot more hosting in the near future…

On Friday, we headed out to Banff to enjoy the Sunshine and some fresh air. It’s always nice to get out of the city… and of course the first and most important stop was to Evelyn’s! (our favorite coffee spot in Banff). We sat out on the patio and enjoyed a delicious cup of tea before the town started to get busy. We wandered our way through the day and decided that since we were already in Banff we might as well stay the night!

I had the opportunity to meet up with a dear friend (and her boyfriend) that I hadn’t seen in years! It’s amazing how strong a friendship truly can be when you haven’t seen someone in almost seven years and you pick up right from where you left off as though it had only been yesterday. As we said our goodbyes, I knew that I could not let another seven years go by without seeing my friend so we made plans to do some back country camping with them this summer. This day left my senses reeling and it was a perfect little “Spring Break” for the two of us.

20130401-083806.jpg

soaking up the sun at Evelyn’s

We had a lovely Easter Sunday that started with brunch with some of Tyler’s family and ended with the rest of the day  doing some spring cleaning and relaxing. I decided it was time to clean out the many boxes of pictures that I have stored away and as I was flipping though them I cam across this little Easter surprise…

20130401-083815.jpg

This is me. I’m probably around three years old in this picture and I have clearly just discovered that the Easter Bunny has found me! (this is a picture of our old Fifth Wheel that we used to have, so I’m assuming we were camping somewhere). Finding this picture brought up a lot of good emotions yesterday and I cannot get over the look on my face!

I hope you all had as great of a weekend as I did. Tyler and I are truly blessed to have each other and the life that we do.

~tl

One response

  1. Pingback: Keeping up with 2013~! | trena ever after

Leave a Reply

