First World Problems…

I have just been looking at my calendar and the days seem to be filling up so quickly! We have so many wonderful things to look forward to this year including two weddings, camping, hiking, golfing, a week in Edmonton to relax with friends and family, as well as time with our friends out in Invermere. I’ll have to remind myself to slow down and enjoy all these moments because I have a sneaking suspicion it’ll be October before I know it…

To kick it all off, we are off to Banff tomorrow for a weekend getaway full of skiing/snowboarding, good eats, great friends and unforgettable memories. It’s sure to be a blast! Tyler has just recently purchased some new skis and is pretty excited to try them out and it’ll be nice for me to dust off my snowboard that has only been used once this year. With the recent dumps of snow that we have had and the cooler temperatures the conditions should be top-notch for spring skiing.

And as if that wasn’t exciting enough, I am then heading straight from Banff to the airport, jumping on a plane and flying to Vancouver for the Western Conference on Safety. Can you say lucky me??? Seriously. I have no complaints right now. This post isn’t meant to be boastful or arrogant as I do consider myself very fortunate for all of the opportunities that I am given in this life. Lately, I have found myself dwelling on “first world problems” (e.g. I have to pack two suitcases this weekend instead of just one…) when realistically these are not problems. It’s selfish for me to get down on life when I know that there are a lot of people who are suffering, starving and struggling to survive every day.

My “first world problems” are a constant reminder to remember The Yoga Code and practice it everyday.

As I pack my two suitcases for this weekend and next week, I will be sure to practice Santosha~ Contentment, Finding the joy and happiness with where you are and with what you have in this exact moment and Brahmacharya~Non-Excess or Moderation, Embracing life’s pleasures without reckless abandon.  Seeing the Divine in everything.

I hope you all have a lovely weekend. Be sure to take some time over the next couple of days to think about your life and how fortunate you are for what you have. Be grateful for all of the “first world problems” and bring that gratitude into all your thoughts, feelings and actions.

FirstWorldProblems

Stay tuned for updates from Vancouver~!!

~tl

One response

  1. Pingback: 5 years ago… | trena ever after

Leave a Reply

