Blogger Break

I can honestly say that the past week has flown by…it seems as the year goes on that I continue to get busier and busier! What have I been up to?? Well, last weekend we were in Cochrane on Friday night visiting some friends of ours. They have just moved into a brand new house and invited us out for the night. Tyler ended up staying out there for the weekend to hang out with the boys and on Saturday I was off to Edmonton for my wonderful friends bachelorette party. Sunday was of course Mother’s day and I had a nice visit with Tyler’s parents and also stopped in to see some good friends and their kids. I left Edmonton feeling exhausted and yearning to be teleported back to Calgary (of course that didn’t happen and I was forced to drive).

I suppose that keeping busy is really sort of healing mechanism for me this time of year. It’s hard to deal with mom being gone on a normal day much less on Mother’s day but to top it all off, I received some more heart-breaking news. My Paternal Grandfather (not by blood) had passed away. Grandpa Walter was 89 and had lived the most wonderful life a man could live; married to my Grandma Betty for 63 years, they raised three beautiful daughters (and my dad), watched all of us grand kids grow up and start families of our own and even did a bit of travelling before his final resting days. Grandpa, we will always carry your warm smile, loving heart and gracious spirit with us wherever we go.

My apologies for the lack of posts lately but I just needed a break. I needed to clear my thoughts and take the time to celebrate my mom in her own right and also celebrate Grandpa Walter.

This week has been one of catching up, cleaning up and carrying on.

20130517-132651.jpg

Heaven holds the pieces of my Heart, taken on the day Grandpa Walter passed.

The long weekend is here (already??… how did that happen?) I’m looking forward to relaxing and spending time with family and friends and getting a fresh start for next week. I hope that you also find some time to enjoy yourselves, rain, shine or dare I say SNOW!? We do live in Alberta after all…

~tl

Leave a Reply

